Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union concerning the Juba Peace Process

The European Union is encouraged by the progress achieved so far in the peace process and welcomes the resumption of the negotiations in Juba on 30 January. The EU is pleased to note the improved security situation for the population in Northern Uganda and Southern Sudan, which suffered heavily during the conflict. This will facilitate the return of IDPs.

For the first time in many years, there is now a real chance for reconstruction and long-term development in Northern Uganda. We welcome the Ugandan government's commitment to this through the Peace, Development and Recovery Plan. The EU remains a reliable and committed partner to Uganda's development.

The EU commends the work of the Government of Southern Sudan, especially Vice-President Dr. Rieck Machar and of the UN Special Envoy Joaquim Chissano, who both have played a crucial role. They can count on the EU's continued strong support.

The EU notes that the immediate extension of the "cessation of hostilities agreement" is a positive and important development. The EU hopes that this signals a commitment from both sides to reaching an early and peaceful conclusion to the peace process. As a confidence building measure, the EU calls on the LRA to release women and children.

The EU attaches great importance to reaching a peace deal which provides both peace and justice, paves the way for reconciliation and is compatible with the wishes of the local communities, national law and the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court. Credible accountability mechanisms are necessary, in particular for the most serious human rights violations.

Several EU Member States, and the European Commission, Canada and Norway have made important financial contributions in support of the peace talks and redevelopment of northern Uganda.

The EU hopes that a final agreement will be signed shortly so that the conflict comes to a definite end.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 08.02.2008