Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


Economic and Financial Affairs

The Economic and Financial Affairs Council, also known as the ECOFIN Council, is composed of the ministers for finance and the economy of EU Member States. It meets once a month in Brussels or Luxembourg. In addition, each Presidency hosts an informal meeting once every six months in its own country.

The so-called Eurogroup meets the day before each ECOFIN Council. The members are those EU states which have introduced the euro as a common currency. They meet to discuss the coordination of economic and budget policy issues of the single currency area and euro representation vis-à-vis non-euro countries.

During the Slovenian Presidency, the informal ECOFIN Council meeting will be held in Brdo pri Kranju on 4 and 5 April 2008.

Information available at the website of the Ministry of Finance external link


The Slovenian Presidency of the Council of the EU

Beginning with 2007, the member states preside over the Council of the EU in the so-called trio. Slovenia is part of the first such trio, but is the last of the three to assume the six-month Presidency. The first of the trio to preside over the EU was Germany in the first half of 2007, while Portugal took up the Presidency in the second half of 2007. With regard to economic and financial affairs, the trio drafted a joint 18-month Presidency programme, focusing on three priorities:

  1. Ensuring the efficient and effective management of economic policy
  2. Taking further steps towards completing the internal European market, particularly with respect to financial services and taxation
  3. Improving the quality of public finances in the EU



More information:


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 20.01.2008