Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


Local Self-government

Slovenia has a long tradition of regionalism and local self-government. The Local Self-Government Act stipulates that a municipality is the basic self-governing local community, with at least 5,000 inhabitants; an urban municipality has at least 20,000 inhabitants. The National Assembly decides on the boundary of a municipality on the basis of a non-binding referendum of the inhabitants, usually acting in accordance with the outcome. Following the last referendum in April 2006, there are now 210 municipalities in Slovenia. Among other things, municipalities have the authority to manage the municipality's assets, facilitate conditions for economic development, plan spatial development, create conditions for building dwellings, manage local public services, establish primary and nursery schools, and build and maintain local roads.

The authorities of a municipality comprise a mayor, a municipal council and a supervisory committee, with the municipal council being the highest decision-making body. The mayor, who is a directly elected official, represents and acts on behalf of the municipality, and presides over the municipal or city council. The supervisory committee supervises the disposal of municipal property and public expenditure.

The constitutional changes of June 2006 introduced provinces to the Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia. The provinces' tasks will include economic, social and cultural development, spatial development and environmental protection, traffic and transport links within the province, and providing public utilities of provincial significance.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 28.12.2007