Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on Zimbabwe

The European Union is following the elections in Zimbabwe closely. It welcomes the determination of the Zimbabwean people to exercise their fundamental democratic right to vote in the elections on 29 March. It further welcomes that the polling day itself proceeded without violence and in an orderly manner. It encourages all concerned to maintain this constructive approach.

The European Union welcomes the fact that the results of the parliamentary elections have now been released and calls on the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission to ensure that the results of the Presidential election are issued without further delay.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 04.04.2008