Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the ceasefire in Burundi

The European Union welcomes the return of the delegation of PALIPEHUTU FNL negotiators to Burundi, and the resumption of the work of the joint verification and monitoring mechanism.  It particularly welcomes the signing of the ceasefire on 25 May 2008 between the Burundian Government and PALIPEHUTU FNL.

The European Union invites PALIPEHUTU FNL to pursue the peace process in a constructive manner in order that the provisions of the Comprehensive Ceasefire Agreement and its various annexes can be fully implemented as rapidly as possible.

The European Union has also taken due note of the appeal made in their joint declaration by the  Burundian Government and PALIPEHUTU FNL for PALIPEHUTU FNL combatants to actually receive food supplies as soon as possible.  It confirms its willingness to provide, in conjunction with other partners, rapid assistance with such supply operations over a two week period, pending the demarcation and establishment of definitive assembly areas.

The European Union welcomes the return to Burundi of the leader of PALIPEHUTU FNL, Mr Agathon Rwasa.  It hopes that this return will signify a definitive stage in the establishment of civil peace in Burundi and will allow the vital economic and social development of the country to be speeded up.

The European Union congratulates the Regional Initiative of South Africa, Tanzania and Uganda on what has been achieved, and it will continue to provide its full support, particularly by means of participation in the Political Directorate.

The European Union hopes that this new context will create the conditions necessary for Burundi's political institutions to be able to work constructively to improve the living conditions of the Burundian people.

The European Union confirms that it will continue to provide its full support to Burundi in its reconciliation and reconstruction efforts.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.


* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 06.06.2008