Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the sentencing of Kamal Labwani

The European Union condemns the recent decision of a Syrian court to extend Kamal Labwani's 12 year prison sentence by three years, for allegedly spreading information aimed at undermining the morale of the nation, under article 286 of the penal code.

This decision clearly violates the principles of the rule of law and contradicts Syrias international obligations and commitments, specifically as set out in the Universal Declaration on Human Rights and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which Syria signed and ratified in 1969, that clearly set out the right to freedom of expression, the right to freedom of assembly and the right to be treated with humanity and respect when deprived of liberty.

Therefore, the European Union urgently calls upon the relevant Syrian authorities to lift this sentence and release Mr Labwani immediately.

Pending this decision, the European Union urges the Syrian Government to guarantee adequate treatment and conditions while in imprisonment.

The European Union avails of this opportunity to call on the Syrian Government to reconsider all cases of political prisoners and prisoners of conscience in accordance with its national Constitution and its international human rights obligations and commitments and to immediately release all such prisoners.

The European Union encourages the Syrian authorities to re-establish dialogue with Syrian civil society.

The Candidate Countries Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, Georgia and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.


* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 08.05.2008