Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the recent upsurge in violence in Sudan

The European Union is seriously concerned about the recent violence in Sudan and calls on all parties to cease violence immediately, respect their obligations under international humanitarian law and commit to a peaceful resolution of all outstanding issues.

The EU strongly condemns the attacks of 10 - 11 May carried out by the Justice and Equality Movement (JEM) on Omdurman.

It also strongly condemns the bombing of civilian targets that took place in North Darfur on 4 May, including a school, water installations and a market place.

Both incidents reportedly resulted in civilian fatalities.

The EU urges restraint by all parties and that no retaliatory action is taken against civilian populations.  All parties involved in the Darfur conflict should adhere to their existing ceasefire commitments, fully cooperate with UNAMID, comply with their obligations under international law and engage in the peace process mediated by the UN and AU Special Envoys.

In addition, the EU calls upon the States of the region to implement their commitments under the Dakar Agreement and to co-operate with a view to ending the activities of armed groups in the region.

The EU is also concerned about the increasing acts of banditry which further complicate the provision of humanitarian assistance in Darfur.

Violence does nothing to ease the plight of the people who want to return to their homes and rebuild their lives.

The Candidate Countries Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 16.05.2008