Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


CFSP Statements


Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the EU on effective international assistance to Burma/Myanmar ahead of the International Conference on 25 May

The European Union reaffirms its solidarity with the citizens of Burma/Myanmar affected by Cyclone Nargis. The EU expresses its full support for the efforts by the UN, ASEAN countries, and international and local agencies to provide emergency assistance to the victims and to help them rebuild their livelihoods quickly.

The swift and substantial contributions made so far by the European Commission and the EU Member States are proof of the Union's determination to contribute to this common purpose.

The EU urges the authorities of Burma/Myanmar to give the highest priority to overcoming the remaining obstacles to the delivery of immediate humanitarian relief to the worst affected regions of the country.

The European Union expresses its full support for the efforts of the UN Secretary General to address this pressing humanitarian crisis, and welcomes the leadership he and the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs OCHA have shown in exerting pressure on the Burmese / Myanmar's authorities and galvanising the local and international response. For the sake of the affected populations, the EU attaches the highest importance to a coordinated and effective international response.

The EU welcomes ASEAN's resolve to expedite assistance to those in need and the arrangements being made to this effect. The EU encourages ASEAN partners to contribute the necessary resources, and move swiftly to establish an effective delivery mechanism, in co-operation with the UN and other donors.

The EU will work with partners to contribute to concrete outcomes of this Conference, in particular to achieve efficient and prompt delivery of available humanitarian aid and expertise to all those in need and to mobilize further humanitarian assistance. The Union also attaches importance to a solid assessment of needs, in order to pave the way for a credible rehabilitation plan.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, align themselves with this declaration.


* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 28.05.2008