Skip to content .

Service navigation

Main Navigation


Further information

Link to opens in a new window


Press Releases


Slovenian Presidency welcomes the ratification of the Lisbon Treaty by the Portuguese parliament

The Slovenian Presidency welcomes the ratification of the Lisbon Treaty in the Portuguese parliament. By doing this, Portugal joined the other Member States that have already ratified the Treaty – Hungary, Slovenia, Malta, Romania, the French Republic, Bulgaria, Poland and the Slovak Republic. Thus, the ratification procedures have been completed by one third of EU national parliaments.

The Treaty of Lisbon will primarily contribute to increased efficiency of EU institutions and make the functioning of the Union more transparent. Through instruments, such as civil initiative, participation of national parliaments in the monitoring of proper application of the subsidiarity principle, and the extension of co-decision procedure to practically all areas of EU activity, it will also make the Union more democratic. The Treaty represents a solid and relevant basis for further shaping of our common European future.

More about the Lisbon Treaty, details of ratification procedures in the Member States, and the benefits the Treaty brings to EU citizens – available on the web site: Europa – Treaty of Lisbon external link


Accessibility     . Print     .

Date: 24.04.2008